Our schools need to help boys become men? Part I

9 Sep

This article hit home for me as a father of two sons, now 17 and 19.  I thought it best to run this as a two-part post.

Part I is the short article from a respected Canadian newspaper. It deals with an issue I understand to be near-universal amongst the major English-speaking nations. There is no need to comment on Part I, other than to perhaps express interest or declare that you’ve read the article.

Part II will be my thoughts, and one work in particular that has corroborated these thoughts. It is here that I would invite comments from those interested, especially as to whether or not my Part II had any influence upon your final position (if indeed you have one).  Part II will probably happen on the weekend.

Here it is: Our schools need to help boys become men

Cheers.

4 Responses to “Our schools need to help boys become men? Part I”

  1. genderneutrallanguage September 9, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    I strongly disagree with the author you linked on a very foundational point. The phrase the 9th grade boys said didn’t say what he think it said. The connotation of the boys speaking that way is much bigger and more devastating. It shows that the boys are becoming feminized. Not the “Girl Power” of feminism, but the “my fuckablity is my greatest strength” of the traditional feminine that feminism fights against. These boys are not making masculine powerful assertions of dominance. They are weak and helpless individuals trying to sell their sexuality because that is the most potent thing they’ve got.

    • navigator1965 September 9, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

      Thanks for starting things off for us with a strong opinion. Maybe “my sexual desirability is my greatest strength” might have been easier on some readers, but I confess that the vulgarity of that part of your comment reflects that the vulgarity of that aspect of our society.

      My bad for not calling the rules, and, like it or not, that part of the comment is effective.

      I think you are on to something with the boys’ weakness and helplessness. Perhaps this may not be as apparent to women, but I interpret this as false bravado to mask masculine insecurity. Perhaps this potentially explains, but does not excuse, such language.

      I’ll refrain from saying to much before Part II. Hope to see you and others there.

      • genderneutrallanguage September 9, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

        I fully agree, explains but does not excuse.

        To even begin to properly address a problem we need to first properly identify the problem. The problem is not that these boys see women as inferior, but that they see them selves as inferior. These are radically different problems that need radically different solutions.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Our schools need to help boys become men? Part III | The Mirror - September 17, 2013

    […] Sep In Part I, we saw an article that highlighted how poorly schools were doing with boys. In Part II, we saw that […]

Please Leave a Reply

