MIA: Missing In Action

16 Oct

Everyone,

 

Due to a botched transition between Internet Service Providers (ISPs), I am without home internet access until 24 October at the earliest.

Being slightly divorce-poor and sans car, I will have a limited ability to get to places like Starbucks with wifi.

Cheers,

Navigator1965

23 Responses to “MIA: Missing In Action”

  1. Winifred M. Reilly October 16, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    Was wondering what happened to you.
    Without internet… These days that’s like being without indoor plumbing or electricity.

    • navigator1965 October 16, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

      Somehow my comments went below. But yes, connectivity is almost a necessity these days. Almost.

  2. Dotta Raphels October 16, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    Was also wondering where you were. Sorry about the grounding, I know how frustrating this can be. Will keep on the look out until your return then….missed you here 😦

    • navigator1965 October 16, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

      It has become almost a necessity in this day and age. What’s frustrating is that my edited manuscript came back from the self publisher just before I left for vacation, and I can’t download it from gmail onto my antique home computer (bought used for $50 three years ago). Should have this solved by tonight, though.

      • navigator1965 October 16, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

        Hey! That was supposed to be my reply to Winifred. What’s going on?

        Hi Dotta, did ten days in SanFrancisco and then came back to work, 3 x college guys visiting tomorrow night (i.e., big “honey do” list), youngest guy coming Friday evening, busted internet, trying to review the manuscript edits, etc.

        Missed you too.

  3. vicbriggs October 16, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    At least not we all know where you’ve disappeared to 🙂 Hope these Internet Service Providers do not keep you in the cold for too long.

    • navigator1965 October 16, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

      Thanks Vic. I was thinking of saying something devilish like I had gone over to the Dark Side (i.e., became a Men’s Rights Activist), but you’d see through me. }:-)>

      I’m going to have to stretch my large latte with whipped out, so I can keep in range of this free wifi!

      • Dotta Raphels October 16, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

        Okay, no room to reply right under yours. I got the one about $50 and antiques,lol.
        It’s served you well though… Great news about your manuscript, looking forward to it.
        Oh dear, looks like you are swamped,all in a good way though,lol. It’s good to have you back 🙂

      • vicbriggs October 17, 2013 at 1:27 am #

        Hope you enjoyed your latte 🙂 I similarly had to make a dash for it this morning to the nearest café with wifi since I’m staying with a friend in Athens who does not have wifi. I don’t know how people cope without it nowadays. It has become a necessity, where once it used to be a luxury.
        And yes, you are quite right, I would have seen right through you 😉

        • navigator1965 October 17, 2013 at 3:07 am #

          I did enjoy my latte, thank you. Since I haven’t slept a wink and it’s now 3:00 a.m. local time, it appears as if am paying the price for late caffeine.

        • vicbriggs October 17, 2013 at 3:18 am #

          Count clouds. Sleep well.

        • navigator1965 October 17, 2013 at 3:20 am #

          🙂

  4. Opinionated Man October 17, 2013 at 6:32 am #

    I blame Obama.

    • navigator1965 October 17, 2013 at 8:58 am #

      Indeed. This was clearly a clever ploy to make seem as if he wanted to keep me from thwarting the budget deal in support of the SECRET take over plan. Nicely played, Polar Bear Magnet.

    • Kim Raya October 25, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

      Or maybe it was the NSA…a conspiracy theory to keep Navigator’s discoveries under wraps…

      • navigator1965 October 25, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

        That must be it. LOL. One book can change the course of human history, and their massively parallel quantum computers obviously warned them about me.

        Thanks for the smile!

        • Kim Raya October 25, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

          🙂

  5. bethbyrnes October 17, 2013 at 10:25 am #

    I will have to blame Boehner to balance out OM.
    I had this problem due to a fire in SoCal that took out our internet for 12 hours and I was frantic, so I empathize.

  6. Holistic Wayfarer October 19, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    Do tell us afterward what postmodern life with scant internet access is like.

    • navigator1965 October 19, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

      I shall indeed, and thank you for your kind visit.

  7. idiotwriter October 21, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

    Ah – this is not a great thing…are you back on track or sitting at the coffee shop? 😉

    • navigator1965 October 21, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      My gf’s hotspot / “mifi” and Blackberry seem to be doing the trick at the moment. Won’t have the proper internet until Thursday. In the meantime, I just learned this morning that I have to leave bright and early tomorrow morning for a two-day business business / duty trip.

Please Leave a Reply

