Poem: A Leaf Falls Prematurely

27 Oct
My Backyard in Fall

My Backyard in Fall

I watch your pretty colours turn’d
As I fear’d, they’re premature
I hang in a future stark and clear
And your palate I endure

For in the gentle, rustling green
Of leaves against the wood
I sense you slight stem’s tenuous grip
Not holding as it should

So long we’ve sat here, side by side
Swaying in the breeze
What awaits as your stems separates
I cannot embrace with ease

I watch you now, past breakaway
In your slow and graceful fall
Though long have I foreseen this end
I could not this end forestall

Would that it were different, though
Our fall together won
We’d turn with one another
And descend in unison

Our final journey; we’d confide
In soft flight, devoid of sound
We’d descend in silence, side by side
Then together upon the ground

Yet I watch you arc, obliviously
I pain, and do not know
Whether you’ll fall straight beneath me
Or away, should some wind blow

Your slow decent continues
My heart, I fear it grieves
For I rest here, one of many
Alone amongst the leaves.

 

 

18 Responses to “Poem: A Leaf Falls Prematurely”

  1. Kim Raya October 27, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    This is absolutely beautiful…and sorrowful. My heart saddened when I read it, yet it’s strangely familiar.

    • navigator1965 October 27, 2013 at 9:34 am #

      Thank you, Kim. I liked it when I wrote it back in 2007.

      • Kim Raya October 27, 2013 at 9:50 am #

        Did you publish It?

        When I said “strangely familiar”, I meant it was familiar to my soul…

        • navigator1965 October 27, 2013 at 11:10 am #

          Kim, I haven’t published it. I did have a few poems up on my first (and failed) attempt at blogging last spring, so perhaps this was one of the ones I put up. I can’t remember.

  2. evolution October 27, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    Beautiful poem, 1965. I came home to experience a proper Midwest autumn for the first time in a decade, and I’m once again stunned by nature’s beauty. So many brilliant colors that will inevitably fall away to winter, so much like so many things in life. Natures’s law of impermanence.

    • navigator1965 October 27, 2013 at 11:08 am #

      Thank you, Evo. Fall is my favourite time of year – it is so beautiful.

  3. Tarnished October 27, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    How lovely and sad at the same time. Your poem is like the taste of autumn in a graveyard…quiet and sorrowful, but accepting of the fact that all must come to some kind of end. I believe in reincarnation, but to have a new life, one must acknowledge the end of the current one.

    • navigator1965 October 27, 2013 at 11:13 am #

      Thank you, Tarnished. I’m not certain exactly what I believe in terms of an after life or reincarnation. I suppose that I am concentrating, however imperfectly, on how I live this life. Perhaps if we take care of our current existences, future / subsequent existences, in what ever form they make take, will take care of themselves.

      • Tarnished October 27, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

        That’s a good way to think about it.

  4. idiotwriter October 27, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    Just – 2007? Wow …hauntingly beautiful.
    Autumn is amazing isn’t it.
    ….so in an in between place in time – so much beauty – yet all is beginning to change in colours become so very apparent just as all begins to lay itself to the ground in preparation for the long cold that begins soon.

    • navigator1965 October 27, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

      Thank you IW. You have set a rather high bar with your beautiful poetry, so the rest of us have to work hard to measure up. 😉 (I know it’s not a contest!)

      Yes, autumn is indeed amazing. The autumnal equinox starts a magical period in which our world prepares to go to sleep. In the northern hemisphere, of course. In the southern half, it is awakening.

      • idiotwriter October 28, 2013 at 3:43 am #

        You flatter me TOO much Navigator…but thank you 🙂

  5. Winifred M. Reilly October 28, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    Nice.
    Really holds the quiet sorrow of fall.

  6. bethbyrnes October 30, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    Lovely autumn word images.

  7. Mich-in-French October 30, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    It speaks quietly of moments in our lives too – well Navigator – between you and IW I am inspired to try my hand at some verses of my own…beautiful!

    • navigator1965 October 30, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

      Mich,

      So glad that you enjoyed it – thank you for such kind comments. Belinda and I do appear to have very different styles. I seem to need recourse to the cerebral–said with more than a bit of a wry smile–to experience what seems so effortless from her. Belinda’s is so beautiful and sincere and passionate and indirect and metaphoric, a haunting and ethereal song on the wind that leaves one wondering if you’ve plumbed it to its utter depths.

      There’s just such a natural beauty to it.

      Yes, by all means give it a try. It’s a means of discovering part of yourself, perhaps your inner voice.

      Thanks for dropping by.

Please Leave a Reply

