Poem: Be My Siren

5 Nov

image

I stand on this sleek ship, my life
A lonely man, no crew but me
Yet who, oh who, have I to blame?
These empty sails filled with salt air
Cruel Mistress Wave instead of wife
No First Mate to share my strife
Such firm rudder, that takes me where?
My old brass sextant has gone lame
The compass points all look the same
As I cut across this morbid sea
My holds, of meaning, are so empty
Oh be! Oh be! My siren fair
Haunt my soul with such sweet song
Entice me to your watery lair
Do not this pointless course prolong
Lest I of pointless course despair
For my heart’s watery death, your beauty does conspire
My course so unwise does your orchestral song inspire
Thus bring me to where I do so belong
Wrecked upon the rocks of my desire
As I descend the abyss for final rest too long
Let my last vision be of you, as I and ship expire

20 Responses to “Poem: Be My Siren”

  1. jrbenjamin November 5, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

    Very strong poetry. I love the subject, and the meter and word choice work well in congruence. I really enjoyed reading this. Well done.

    • navigator1965 November 5, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

      Thank you, jr. Kind words indeed. I am rather fond of this one, am and glad you liked it.

  2. Dottaraphels November 5, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

    When did you decide to bring such melancholy? This is sad to the ordinary mind but perhaps blissful to him seeking a siren. Perhaps it serves well he does find her huh? 🙂
    Everything is in solid agreement in this piece, there’s no room for retreat. It pulls at the core, beautifully written,beautifully.

  3. dalo2013 November 6, 2013 at 3:18 am #

    Fantastic poem. I love the sea and ships, and your words brought me to both, but under such human emotions of solitude and regret (regret, but with strength…can’t think of what word would reflect this thought…).

    • navigator1965 November 6, 2013 at 6:07 am #

      Hi Dotta,

      Thanks for your wonderful comments. My poetry collection, humble as it is, stems from around 2007-2008. It was a somewhat prolific writing period for me, given that my 19 year marriage to a narcissistic woman was beginning to fall apart. Hence the melancholy, and yearning for love.

      There’s an experimental aspect to my poetry, in that I had no appreciable education in the field, so I was exploring the mode of expression.

      Haven’t written much poetry since. Perhaps I’ll find the passion again once the book comes out.

    • navigator1965 November 6, 2013 at 6:26 am #

      Thank you. This was a poem that I had a sense would be special when I was into its writing. It is a bit hard to express just how it works, but perhaps that is part of what makes it so nice.

  4. leftylola November 6, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

    I like the sense of despair. But there’s also hope beyond that despair in the form of the siren he seeks. He seems to be on a course set towards his own destruction and the Siren is his only hope towards some sort of bliss. That said, the tone, word choices, and symbolism work beautifully. well done.

    • navigator1965 November 6, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

      Thank you, leftylola. I’m glad you liked it, and it’s interesting that you picked up on the despair. I wrote it towards the end of a 19 year marriage to a woman with expert-confirmed narcissistic personality traits (which I did not know at the time), so I was dealing with, well, despair at never having love.

      Didn’t understand this when I wrote; I just wrote what was in me.

  5. Holistic Wayfarer November 6, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

    Oh, my. The echo, the message, rhythm (like the lapping sea). Love where you broke the first line into the second. Excellent.

  6. lensgirl53 November 8, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    A sad sailor, indeed…but a good poem to express it. I love the couplet:

    My old brass sextant has gone lame
    The compass points all look the same

    The “Navigator” lexicon evokes the senses as good poems usually do.

    “wrecked upon the rocks of my desire…” excellent.

    Life’s disappointments i.e. lost love are cruel muses, for certain. Sadly, we write what we know.

    I hope that one day you will be able to christen “the bow” of a new poem about restoration and light.

    blessings,
    dale

    • navigator1965 November 8, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words and wishes, dale. Cheers.

  7. idiotwriter November 15, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    I can definately sense that this is one that unfolded well and was special (as you mentioned in an earlier comment _ gotta love when that happens 😀
    It s- it is beautiful – haunting – so very very haunting – but beautifully written!

    • navigator1965 November 15, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

      Thanks, Belinda. Yes, this one came from deep within. It poured forth, and then needed a little TLC to bring it to what I posted. It does have a haunting quality to it.

      • idiotwriter November 15, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

        It is tactile.

        • navigator1965 November 15, 2013 at 10:34 pm #

          I have NEVER considered a poem from such a perspective. You’ve just opened my eyes a little bit. Thank you.

        • idiotwriter November 16, 2013 at 4:10 am #

          😀 That is stupid that, that pleases me…:/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Be My Siren | A Good Blog is Hard to Find - February 7, 2014

    […] poem originally appeared at my blog The Mirror. Hope you enjoy […]

Please Leave a Reply

