Serengeti

23 Nov

Lions

In the Serengeti of my mind
I behold its sea of straw
Gently wav’ring in the breeze
That warm and gentle gift of wind
I taste the air and know with ease
That near to me you I shall find
And so my place I leave behind
And to my search I thus depart
I, the King of mighty paw
Surely do I move to you
The lioness within my heart

I find you and I am at peace
As gently I caress your fur
What was my roar is now a purr
The wise respect that gentle voice
Now with you I find release
Of the burdens that a king must bear
Although in this I have no choice
And so I cherish your embrace
Your feel, your scent both ease my mind
As sings your voice and loving eyes
Lioness Rampant, as you start to rear
Yet I am fill’d with love, not fear
And with this love, I hold you near

By then the world is left behind
In the Serengeti of my mind

17 Responses to “Serengeti”

  1. idiotwriter November 23, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    Oh ~ I just can’t ~ The picture, my Africa, the words ~ too many things here. I did a painting of a lion – nothing ~ compared to the picture you paint here.

  2. Kim Saeed November 23, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Wild, free spirits

    Wild lovers

    At peace with only each other

    For there is no other way…

  3. leftylola November 23, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

    Nice imagery you weave here. I’m not sure why, but I read this in almost a singing way in my head.

    • navigator1965 November 23, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

      Thank you, LL. When I write poetry, and it has been a few years, I almost sing it in my head as I write it. I think this is how I get the meter right, which I find to be an important aspect to me.

      Sharp pickup. Always a pleasure to have you here.

  4. Move-On with your life November 24, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    I am new to your blog…..to be fair to your readers your blog carries a bitterness and borderline anti-woman rant. Why dont you spend your effort, time and money helping the less fortunate? Where it will truly matter….your blog is your therapy if your truly honest however your blog has a strong anti gender feel to it. Not sure if you will see that however an unbiased observer can not but help come to that conclusion. All of us have been through hardship, death and despair. You will always get some positive responses on your posts as there are many persons that make up the world. Let your bitterness go, many men have been through divorce and then some but have been able to move on and are in fact the better for it…devote time, love and energy to your new relationship….your blog takes energy, there is no dispute to that…..what could you have done with that energy to the one that you love rather than write about your baggage

    • navigator1965 November 24, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

      M.O.,

      Thanks for your visit and thoughtful comments. You do raise good points, and I agree that one should not live in bitterness against certain individuals.

      I will point out that what happened to me was not an isolated incident, and is commonly encountered, to varying degrees, by many men and children in the family “justice” system. I have a moral duty to confront such injustice as best I can, which I attempt to do in a relatively civil fashion, although the sense of humour does get in the way.

      Many if not most of the followers here are women bloggers. These are mutual follows, in that we follow each other’s blogs. Some even self-identify as feminists. Their continued presence here is evidence that there is no misogyny here.

      Yes, the gf deserves attention, and I am making certain that she does not become a blogging widow. She even laughed at my briefcase/when to ignore your wife post (which was clearly made in jest).

      Cheers.

  5. Sherri November 25, 2013 at 5:34 am #

    ‘By then the world is left behind in the Serengeti of my mind’…that’s where I’d like to be this morning Michael…love this poem, love lions, loved the lilt and motion as it meandered towards its glorious end.

    Thank you from this female reader 😉

    • navigator1965 November 25, 2013 at 6:06 am #

      And thank you in reply from this male writer. Appreciate the kind words, Sherri.

  6. vicbriggs December 1, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    I liked the way you framed the poem. Beautifully done.

  7. barbarafranken December 2, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    and through our experiences we love deeper and truer… so that we can move forward and enjoy life as it is… I loved this poem about LOVE… Barbara

    • navigator1965 December 2, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

      Barbara,

      So glad you enjoyed the poem. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      It’s all about love, in the final analysis, isn’t it?

  8. bethbyrnes December 2, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

    Any poem that honors lions, has my vote. Nice.

    • navigator1965 December 2, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

      Thank you, Beth. Now look what you’ve done! You’ve made me smile. 🙂

  9. JMC813 December 4, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    Beautifully lyrical piece.
    Keep Inspiring

    • navigator1965 December 4, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

      Thanks for your kind words and kind visit, JMC813.

Please Leave a Reply

