Blogging under the influence

1 Jan
Influential? }:-)>

Influential? }:-)>

Although I’ve since adopted a “no awards, SVP” policy, I am finally getting to those early honours bestowed upon me. This one was from the delightful Dotta R., and here are the questions I am to answer:

1. If you could change one thing about our society, what would it be?

As the late Christopher Lasch noted, we live in a culture of narcissism. I would remedy this. Perhaps I will.

2. What do you turn to when in need of inspiration?

I’ve found that I generally don’t need external sources of inspiration. This isn’t to say that things don’t inspire me, but rather that I don’t lack for internal motivation.

3. Name one person, alive or dead, who has influenced you most.

A very tough question for me. I’ve had many positive influences. Probably my parents or my kids. On the negative side, my ex-wife.

4. What newspaper, if any, do you read on a regular basis?

Canada’s National Post, and often the Globe & Mail as well.

5. Share one key insight that has helped you most in your writing.

My insight was not about writing, it was about what to write about. It was insight into the human condition, if you will, that begged to be communicated.

6. Are rules made to be broken?

Unjust ones, absolutely.

7. What does democracy stand for as far as you’re concerned?

The least worst form of government ever invented.

8. Is freedom of speech an unalienable right?

I’m about to find out with my forthcoming book!

9. If we respect everyone’s opinion as valid, where does that leave hate speech?

I challenge the validity of the question. We must distinguish between the right to an opinion and the right to express that opinion, and the merit of that opinion. Not all opinions are created equal.

From the Canadian experience, we must be careful here. Ideologues (i.e., narcissists) will exploit human rights tribunals to attack non-conforming opinions by claiming they constitute “hate” speech.

10. Do you think online media will replace print in the next few decades?

Surpass, perhaps, but I suspect not replace. At least not within my generation. There are physical senses that a physical book satisfies beyond sight, and ebooks aren’t the same.

11. What is the main thing you want to achieve as a blogger?

I started out wanting to establish a platform for my books. Now having done it for a few months, I want to maintain the relationships I’ve made. In terms of achieving, I want to make a positive impact on my fellow bloggers, if only in small ways.

21 Responses to “Blogging under the influence”

  1. suzjones January 1, 2014 at 4:04 pm #

    Yay!! Congrats on the award.
    btw – I am behind on my commenting once again so I haven’t read your other posts yet but I will get to them. 🙂

    • navigator1965 January 1, 2014 at 4:25 pm #

      Thanks, Sue. You’re behind in your comments because you’ve been posting so much! };-)> No worries.

      • suzjones January 1, 2014 at 5:04 pm #

        No. Most of them had been scheduled. I’ve just been reading and sewing 😉

  2. Susan Lattwein January 1, 2014 at 6:43 pm #

    Love answer to #7
    Good on you Dotta, you got him thinking, me thinks! 🙂

  3. KG January 1, 2014 at 9:28 pm #

    Congratulations with the Award Navigator and Nice to see an award on the New Year Day.
    I loved the answer to #7 🙂
    For 10, yes, I think so too. Because I have seen many of my friends and acquaintances who are a decade younger to me (or so called next generation I suppose) who still gorge on those physical books enjoying the smell of those words emanating from the paper.
    And #11 You already do and I think I have already told you that 🙂

    Lovely post.

    • navigator1965 January 1, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

      Thank you, KG. I am indeed fortunate to have such wonderful friends here on wordpress. I seem to have generated a resonate response to #7.

  4. thebufferzoneday January 1, 2014 at 10:13 pm #

    Congrats on your well deserved award!

    • navigator1965 January 2, 2014 at 7:03 am #

      Thank you, TBZD. It came with a stiffffff drink and no requirement to post bail. };-)>

  5. Aussa Lorens January 2, 2014 at 12:26 am #

    Congrats on the award! And damn if these aren’t some insightful answers you’ve come up with right here.

    • navigator1965 January 2, 2014 at 7:02 am #

      Why, thank you, Aussa. You are too kind. And perhaps too sober for New Year’s Day, but that is easily remedied.

      As for insight, I had a couple of REALLY big ones that inspired me to write a couple of books, with the second being a work in progress. Let me know if you are ever bored and need sometime to read. (No strings.) Supposed to be a gripping and enjoyable read. Limited time sale of 100% off for humorous and adventurous red heads.

      Would you know of any?

      • Aussa Lorens January 2, 2014 at 1:39 pm #

        Ha! That sounds slightly familiar, at times. When are you releasing it again? I’m so behind on so much reading but I like the idea of trying to get ahold of ALL the writing from everyone I know on WordPress (is that insane?) so I can get to know them, support them, learn from them, all that stuff… I need to find some other area of my life to abandon so that I have more time to read!

        • navigator1965 January 2, 2014 at 2:34 pm #

          I’m with you this, Aussa. Currently reading Susan Lattwein’s book “Arafura” and quite enjoying it. Have another three in the queue, and my second one to write, and a blog to maintain. You know us killer nuclear attack submarine hunters – can’t get enough chick lit mysteries. I’d suggest that I could read your book if you’d read mine, but that sounds too much like naughty school children.

          Mine’s due out in February, but the .pdf is always available. Calling to you. Tempting you. Seducing you to read it. Aussa. Aussa. Aussssssssssaaaaaaaaaaaa.

        • Aussa Lorens January 2, 2014 at 2:53 pm #

          Haha! Well you should know by now that I can’t resist temptation! If you’re okay with me being relatively slow and with giving something away then feel free to send! aussa.lorens@gmail.com Ah!

        • navigator1965 January 2, 2014 at 4:57 pm #

          Your wish is my command! Done.

  6. Howisbradley January 2, 2014 at 4:15 am #

    Absolutely a well designed award

    • Howisbradley January 2, 2014 at 4:16 am #

      OOPS, I meant “well deserved “

      • navigator1965 January 2, 2014 at 7:11 am #

        Hi Bradley,

        Thanks so much for stopping by to leave your kind sentiment. Much appreciated, my good Sir.

  7. idiotwriter January 2, 2014 at 6:13 am #

    Nice one Nav 😀

Please Leave a Reply

