The Versatile Blogger Award

11 Jan

image

Now that I’ve finally gotten smart enough with WordPress to figure out how to process an award, I have to thank blogger Kim Saeed of Let me Reach with Kim Saeed fame for the Versatile Blogger Award.

While I’ve yet to get proficient enough (and have enough spare time!) to pass all of these awards along, I do want to answer the questions. For this award, I have to write seven things about myself. Here goes:

1. I used to practice Yang style tai chi, and loved it. I will get back into it again some day.

Stop! You haven't used deodorant.

Stop! You haven’t used deodorant.

2. I’d love to own an English bulldog.

Credit: Quizillafreak, wikipedia.org

Credit: Quizillafreak, wikipedia.org

3. Lagavulin is my favourite whiskey.

The elixir of life

The elixir of life

4. My favourite audiophile website is Arthur Salvatore’s.

5. I curse the Swedes whenever I have to assemble Ikea furniture. Lucky for me, the Swedish Ambassador hasn’t been around. Would have caused a major diplomatic incident if he had been.

1st Ikea store, or "hell" as I like call it

1st Ikea store, or “hell” as I like call it

6. I love music on vinyl. I have a basic used Lenco turntable by Jean Nantais. Those “in the know” say they are by far the best turntables in existence, bar none. Here is mine with a friend’s $15,000 dollar custom tube amp (I wish!).

image

7. I will likely take up writing as a full time endeavour by March as part of a major life change (read: can’t find a real job).

34 Responses to “The Versatile Blogger Award”

  1. KG January 11, 2014 at 1:09 pm #

    Music on a turntable is a different experience. I wish I had more time with my dad’s.

  2. Kim Saeed January 11, 2014 at 1:19 pm #

    Music on a turntable…I’m thinking Billie Holiday. Has a magical ring to it.

    Note to Self: Must try Lagavulin.

    • navigator1965 January 11, 2014 at 3:16 pm #

      It is magical on a turntable, especially one of Jean’s decks. Lagavulin is an Islay single malt, which are known for being peaty. Lagavulin is the king of peaty malts, quite smooth at 16 years.

  3. LC Aggie Sith January 11, 2014 at 4:25 pm #

    You had me at Lagavulin 😀

  4. agesturelessimpure January 11, 2014 at 5:10 pm #

    Congrats on the award and I have to say I am jealous of that turntable. I need to go goodwill hunting for one of those babies!

    Paul

    • navigator1965 January 12, 2014 at 9:53 am #

      Thanks, Paul. A good way to start is to buy a used Lenco L75 or L78 in good working order, and you can make your own do-it-yourself plinth (the wooden box part) based on internet plans. Jean will always take the Lenco guts in for trade, and he often has some of his older models available used when his clients trade up to his latest and greatest version.

  5. Dotta Raphels January 11, 2014 at 6:02 pm #

    And writing is a real job too 🙂

  6. suzjones January 11, 2014 at 6:16 pm #

    Loved learning a little more about you my friend.
    I did Tai Chi for a short time. I found it difficult to get my head around a lot of the moves but found some of them very relaxing. I kept my cheat sheet and I have some music that I occasionally practice to away from the prying (and laughing) eyes of others. 🙂

    • navigator1965 January 11, 2014 at 9:18 pm #

      Away from prying eyes = tai chi ninja.

      • suzjones January 12, 2014 at 4:23 am #

        It is I navi-san 😉

        • navigator1965 January 12, 2014 at 8:53 am #

          This merited a good and deep chuckle. Thank you, Sue.

  7. vicbriggs January 11, 2014 at 6:25 pm #

    🙂 I enjoyed reading your write-up navigator – thank you for sharing.

    • navigator1965 January 11, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

      You’re quite welcome, Vic.

    • navigator1965 January 12, 2014 at 9:48 am #

      Thank you, Vic. I surprised myself by enjoying writing it.

      • vicbriggs January 12, 2014 at 1:48 pm #

        I am glad you are enjoying it. It can be quite fun and a different type of challenge to the usual ones we face when blogging.

  8. Tarnished January 11, 2014 at 9:43 pm #

    Nice job, Navigator. I got a bunch of awards, but never took the time toput them up on my blog. Unfortunately, a good deal of my initial commenters aren’t into the gender studies I often cover…so no more awards for me. Lol.

    It was cool to learn 7 random things about you though. Also been loving your recent posts, but I’m mostly in Lurk Mode due to work/time constraints right now. Hope to actually finish a post of my own tomorrow about INTJ personality types…That might be of interest to a certain someone here, eh?

    Anyway, have a very pleasant evening and keep up with your awesome writing/book creation!

    • navigator1965 January 11, 2014 at 9:51 pm #

      TS,

      So nice to hear from you again, and I do appreciate your kind comments. I certainly will keep up with the book and book-related posts.

      I’m eager to read your INTJ post when it comes out. Have to learn about those sneaky “masterminds”!

      };-)>

  9. Inion N. Mathair January 12, 2014 at 2:46 am #

    Well, well, well….looks like someone’s been playing nice with others! 😀 lol Congrats on your award our friend. Funny enough, this is our favorite part of these awards. Getting to know your blogging friends a little better. The fact that you have a turntable & actually use it is just amazing. A nostalgic at heart, no doubt. I mean let’s face it, the only turntables you see now-a-days are the one’s being used by D.J’s as they spin & scratch! So, yeah…this is absolutely frigging cool! And your choice of music? 50’s or soulful blues? Progressive Jazz or Motown? Swing or Opera? Either way, it peels a layer back. And then there’s the Tai Chi. Shows discipline, focus & one whose trying to achieve balance in their life in every aspect. Another layer. It is said you can tell the make of a man by the drink in his hand. Funny enough, there’s even websites dedicated to just that. Drink reading. http://glo.msn.com/relationships/what-his-drink-of-choice-says-about-him-7505.gallery

    Interesting to be sure, they say that a man who orders wine, is a man of culture, art & travel. Scotch drinkers: patient and wise with a strong work ethic. Redbull & Vodka: Either right out of college or still holding on to those glory days, “hard-core partier. Then there is you Navigator. Whiskey Connoisseur: Every link started with the same thing. “Whiskey….A man’s drink!” / “Real men drink Whiskey.” And the website above stated: this is a weeknight drink for men who wear suits. Although the drink told us a lot about you. You didn’t tell us a lot about your drink. We’d never heard of Lagavulin. Of course our feminine curiosity got the best of us & so we began our quest to find out what kind of alcohol this was that had managed to slip past two Irish drunks! (LOL) The first Google entry didn’t answer that question. Instead, it left us with more. Lagavulin: is a small village approximately three miles outside Port Ellen on the Isle of Islay, Scotland. Well that didn’t do much! But as we looked further down we found: **A much sought-after single malt with the massive peat-smoke that’s typical of southern Islay – but also offering a dryness that turns it into a truly interesting dram.) The only thing that told us, was that you would know what the drink tasted like as long as your from or have been to Islay. That leaves us out. And by the way… what the hell does (dram) mean. So our fingers went to typing and….Dram: A small drink of whiskey or other spirits (often used in humorous imitation of Scottish speech). And what about Peat or Peat-smoke for that matter? **Peat: is earth that consists of grasses, moss, tree roots, dead animals and soil that has become tightly compacted over thousands of years. All this information & we’d yet to have our questioned answered. And to us, the most important fact. What the hell does the whiskey actually taste like. So here’s your chance. If you could please, give your Irish lady friends a good description of what Lagavulin tastes like. That way, if the time ever comes when we meet our blogging buddy & he asks us to join him in a drink, we can say YES! We’ll have a dram of Lagavulin please. 🙂 Love the post & learning more about you!

    • navigator1965 January 12, 2014 at 8:29 am #

      Ladies! Such a magnificent comment, and such kind words. Thank you.

      My whiskey experience started in college when my mother bought be a bottle of Glen Livet. Sneaky Mom was concerned that I was swilling too much ale, and so she tried to get me hooked on whiskey (which is what they call it in Scotland, and not Scotch), reasoning that I could afford to drink less if I was drinking whiskey.

      It worked, obviously.

      Since I am an RCAF navigator who flew mostly on the east coast, I’ve had several glorious deployments to Scotland at RAF Station Kinloss, and closed out the odd bar on occasion.

      As opposed to Bourbon or Rye whiskeys, the Scottish variety tends to not have a sweet, flowery, perfumey nose. Taste can vary by region – highland, lowland, Speyside, Islay, etc. Peatiness is one of the primary taste elements. Islay malts tend to be peatier than the other regions, and Lagavulin is the king in this regards.

      The closet thing that I can use as an example is as a kid when, for some strange reason, I tried chewing on the rawhide laces of my old baseball glove out of boredom. Rough similarity in taste. It’s not quit the same as “smokey” to my palate, but close. At 16 years (or more), Lagavulin is very smooth and induces a magnificent feeling of warmth throughout the body.

      Music? Generally, if it’s good, I will like it. I thus enjoy a somewhat wide range, but certainly jazz greats, classical, and acoustic/vocal I love in particular. Perhaps a bit of a preference for female vocalists over male. Also enjoy some of the classic rock canon such as Queen’s “A Night at the Opera.”

      As for turntable, there is a vinyl revival that has been going on for a few years now. Even newer bands are releasing on vinyl if they’re serious about their music. VPI Industries is one of the better known turntable and tonearm manufacturers. Have a quick peek at this $9,000 tonearm cartridge: http://www.sorasound.com/products/zyx/zyx-universe-ii/ . With upper end cartridge prices approaching the $10K barrier, it appears as if the whole vinyl industry is alive and well at the moment.

    • navigator1965 January 12, 2014 at 8:31 am #

      I neglected to add that I am of Irish heritage on both sides, myself. Mom’s maiden name was the same as Dad’s family name.

      For propriety’s sake, I assume that any blood relationship between them is a rather distant one.

  10. bethbyrnes January 12, 2014 at 9:35 am #

    Somewhere, we have an old sound system with a turntable, which is good because my Dad is a singer and when he was young he cut a number of records and I do want to listen to them again some day. My previous SO worked for a wine and spirits company and I came to appreciate the concept of cognac, sherry and double malt scotch. Unfortunately, I just cannot bear the taste and effects of alcohol. I never know what to do about awards. I want to honour the bestower and not tax future recipients. A conundrum. I do hope you will become a full time writer – something I have always imagined being an ideal way to spend one’s time. Good luck with all of this, Michael and thank you for your friendship here.

    • navigator1965 January 12, 2014 at 9:44 am #

      Hi Beth. What a fantastic legacy, that you can play your father’s old records and hear him sing again. If you ever have interest in reviving your system to hear them and have questions, I would be more than happy to help.

      Yes, I’ve been of two minds about awards too. At a philosophical level, they do not appeal to me, as they appear to have a slight element of vanity associated with them. This is probably a reflection of my own insecurities, as my experience is that they come from wonderful people with no ulterior motives other than altruism and fellowship. So I am warming up to the practice, but I do share you concern about burdening people with them. I also don’t like playing favourites, and have met so many wonderful people at WordPress that I am loath to single individuals out.

      Thanks for your kind wishes with the writing. I rather fear it is a mutual thing of gratitude with regards to the friendship.

  11. Kate Loveton January 12, 2014 at 10:55 pm #

    Enjoyed this very much – I must say, I would LOVE to have an English bull dog… and am currently writing a story that has a main character who owns one. If I can’t have one in real life (my husband prefers dachshunds), I be darned sure to have one in fiction! 🙂

    Like your blog.

    • navigator1965 January 19, 2014 at 6:04 pm #

      Kate,

      Thanks so much for the kind comment. Yes, bulldogs have an inherent beauty that only the discerning can see. Your main character is clearly a superior individual, even if only a fictitious one. I’m tempted to explore a rescue bulldog, perhaps, in conjunction with a major career change late this spring.

      Apology for the delay in responding. I am clearly suffering from post traumatic yoga syndrome.

  12. jennifer Windram January 13, 2014 at 11:40 am #

    Congrats on the award. I’ve never been in an Ikea or had to put their furniture together, but I’ve heard it can destroy relationships…

    • navigator1965 January 19, 2014 at 5:15 pm #

      Thanks, Jennifer, and apology for my delay in responding. Your first comment got hidden in my “Approve” list and I missed it.

      Bloody Ikea furniture and cabinet! }:-(>

Please Leave a Reply

