Book Proposal – Part Seven “List of Book’s Chapters”

12 Jan
A false start is a learning experience, not a failure

A false start is a learning experience, not a failure

We now get to the part of the book proposal where we start to do some hard planning as to the book’s actual structure. This is where the basic blueprint starts to outline the framework against which we will write.

Bear in mind that I: a) had never written a book before; and b) had never written a proposal before.

My internet research suggested that publishers generally want a book no longer than 300 pages / 60,000 words from an unknown, first time author. Perhaps this only applies to fiction; I don’t know. Regardless, I imposed this artificial constraint upon myself for this part of my proposal. As it turned out, it was completely unrealistic for what I was trying to accomplish, but I didn’t have the experience with longer written works to appreciate this.

What I will is show what I originally wrote in this part of my proposal for the stillborn book concept of ONE, which included the word counts that added up to slightly less than the 60,000 word constraint. Afterwards, I’ll show what I actually came up with for the current book The Mirror, Book One – Welcome to the Evil Sisterhood. Note that I tried to make the chapter titles as interesting as possible, and that they betray a sense of humour:

* * * * *
[ONE]

List of Book’s Chapters

1. Was Someone Trying to Tell Me Something? (4,000 words)

2. Glancing in the Rear View Mirror (3,000 words)

3. Living a Myth Isn’t Living the Dream (5,000 words)

4. A Maelstrom Is a Poor Place for Swimming Lessons (10,000 words)

5. Thanks for Planning my Funeral – How Rude of Me Not to Die (10,000 words)

6. Sigmund Freud Sipping Coffee at a Paris Café (6,000 words)

7. When an English Monk Serves Duck for Geometry Class (6,000 words)

8. What Mrs. Crocodile Thinks Every Good Mother Should Know (6,000 words)

9. What’s Good for the Gander is Good for the Goose, so Long as Mine Doesn’t Get Cooked (6,000 words)

* * * * *

Book One of my magnum opus

Book One of my magnum opus

[The Mirror, Book One]

TABLE OF CONTENTS

BOOK ONE: Welcome to the Evil Sisterhood (94,000 words)

Introduction

PART I: Narcissus’ Sister
1. Genesis
2. Life
3. Decline & Fall
4. Mirror

PART II: Courts of InJustice
5. Maelstrom
6. Something Wicked This Way Comes
7. Something Wicked This Place Stays
8. Vive la Revolution!

Intermission – Act I

BOOK TWO: Harbinger of a Dark Age

(Tentative)

Intermission – Act II

9. Slavery

PART III: Matriarchy
10. (Swastika in the) Mirror
11. Prime Time
12. La Cage aux Folles
13. Judge Not, Lest Ye Be Judged
14. The 2nd Library of Alexandria
15. CAIO Feminazis

Post Script

* * * * *

As we say in the military, no plan survives first contact with the enemy. There has been a substantial evolution from the plan for ONE to the resultant The Mirror. Going the self-published route liberated me from the artificial 60,000 word constraint, and now one book will be two.

I started research for what would ultimately become The Mirror back in the summer of 2008, and under dire family circumstances. Roughly two years later, I wrote this proposal for the concept book ONE. Roughly another three and a half years, and I am on the verge of publishing The Mirror.

I suppose this rather makes me a Terminator when it comes to feminism. They messed with the wrong Dad’s kids.

Mine.

Always ride with two hands unless it's to use your shotgun

Always ride with two hands unless it’s to use your shotgun

14 Responses to “Book Proposal – Part Seven “List of Book’s Chapters””

  1. KG January 12, 2014 at 12:13 pm #

    You are very good with punch lines…too good 🙂

    • navigator1965 January 12, 2014 at 12:46 pm #

      And you, my dear Madam KG, are far too good for a navigator’s ego.

      • KG January 12, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

        🙂

  2. The Hook January 12, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

    Go get ’em, buddy…

    • navigator1965 January 12, 2014 at 12:51 pm #

      Monsieur le Hook,

      When you hear an ungodly banshee scream from all corners of the Earth, you’ll know that my book has come out. Written so that even a Harry Potter level of reader can understand and enjoy the work, the underlying thesis predicts in theory that the books themselves will cause feminism to destroy itself, and not in a gentle way.

      Not that I will take pleasure in witnessing feminism’s agonizing death throes, mind you. };-))>

      • The Hook January 12, 2014 at 12:55 pm #

        You’re just doing what needs to be done, right?

  3. Aussa Lorens January 13, 2014 at 12:47 am #

    I like the amended layout– it’s far more intriguing.

    • navigator1965 January 19, 2014 at 6:00 pm #

      A vote of confidence that I do appreciate, Madam Aussa.

  4. Sherri January 13, 2014 at 6:20 am #

    As Arnie likes to say: ‘Ahh’ll be baaack’ . And Nav, you are 🙂 Great table of contents.

    • navigator1965 January 19, 2014 at 6:00 pm #

      Sherri, Apology for being so late in responding. I must have inadvertently trashed my email alert. I do have to get better at managing WordPress, although in my defence, I have had a terrible amount of yoga torture sessions to deal with, AND 90 minutes of cross country skiing this morning too.

      Thank you. Yes, I am back from the not-quite-dead. Much to the chagrin of certain individuals, I imagine.

      • Sherri January 20, 2014 at 6:36 pm #

        What? Cross country skiilng too? Are you training for the winter olympics by any chance?
        It’s fine Nav, I get behind in replying so don’t even give it a thought.

  5. yakinamac January 13, 2014 at 7:31 am #

    I prefer your chapter titles for The Mirror – though I regret the loss of the intriguing monk and his duck.

    • navigator1965 January 19, 2014 at 5:57 pm #

      Great pick up, YinaM. The monk was William of Occam, he of Occam’s Razor philosophical device. The solution with the fewest assumptions is to be preferred. The duck comes from the saying, “If it walks like a duck, and talks like a duck, then it’s a duck.”

      I’m going to use plain language to establish an intuitive yet fairly rigorous logical foundation to the thesis that I complete in Book Two. I might still use the monk meets duck theme to introduce the concepts. It will be based upon the late Professor Carroll Quigley’s work in his book The Evolution of Civilizations.

      That’s the great thing about being a non-academic writing to a popular audience. I insulate myself from the attack dogs of the academic establishment. I’m basically saying at several places, “Here’s what this smart professor said about it, so that means that …” To attack my ideas means that the considered work of highly respected academics and scholars has to be refuted.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Proposal – Part Nine “Sample Chapter” | The Mirror - January 19, 2014

    […] Part Seven – List of Book’s Chapters […]

Please Leave a Reply

