Galley Proofs Are In!

20 Jan
By the pricking of my thumbs, something wicked this way comes.

By the pricking of my thumbs, something wicked this way comes.

Well, it’s an exciting day in Navigation Land. I returned from work and found 623 new emails in my inbox, of which 600 were WordPress email alerts. Included amongst the other 23 were the galley proofs from my self-publisher. Bad news: February isn’t an option if I am going to take the time to scrutinize the files. I have already caught three errors in the book galley upon a cursory look, so one can never assume that everything is perfect. For example, look how the book is both (c) my company and me at the same time:

Place your faith in God. Everyone else's work, double check.

Place your faith in God. Everyone else’s work, double check.

In the spirit of this major milestone—this is my first book, and hence my first galley proofs—, I have two questions to pose to everyone, and I would be grateful for your thoughts:

1. I have the cover designs for the hard cover and paperback / soft cover books. Nearly identical. How far in advance of the book release should I unveil the cover? Closer to the release date can build drama. Sooner might make for more effective marketing, in that it gets your cover “out there” in the social media sooner.

2. In today’s social media age, should I have this information about myself on the back cover? Should there be my Gravatar along with “www.navigator1965.wordpress.com”? I suppose this would mean that I have to get a twitter account and maybe a Facebook page for The Mirror.

Since I now have to bear down and get the proof reading / scrutinizing done, I’m afraid that I will be less active at everyone’s blog for a while, for which I ask your understanding.

For those who have read the manuscript, you know just how “interesting” 2014 will be for me once the book comes out. This is one genie that’s going to be awfully tough to put back into its bottle once I let it out.

No quarter. None asked, none granted. }:-)>

compass rose

47 Responses to “Galley Proofs Are In!”

  1. LindaGHill January 20, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

    I think most authors wait until around a week before the book comes out to do the cover reveal, but I could be wrong. I can ask a few friends. 🙂

    Congrats on the galleys! One step closer… 😀

    • navigator1965 January 20, 2014 at 10:13 pm #

      Thanks, Linda. One step closer indeed. Yes, I’d be interested in what friends and other writers think in the subject.

      • LindaGHill January 20, 2014 at 10:31 pm #

        Oh, and certainly on an e-pub book, all the author’s websites are published. I, personally, would put them on the physical books as well.

        I do think you’ll need to break down and get a fb/twitter combo. It’s opposite to supersizing your number one combo in the McD’s drivethru… You don’t really want it, but you really do need it.

        • navigator1965 January 20, 2014 at 10:39 pm #

          I suppose you’re right. Now I have to do proof reading AND learn more about social media. Well, I learned the basics of blogging, so I suppose I can figure the rest out.

          If only the days weren’t so short.

        • LindaGHill January 20, 2014 at 10:56 pm #

          I can help you with fb, but twitter I don’t have a clue what I’m doing. The good/bad news is, I have 707 followers there. 😛 Maybe you can find a volunteer to help… and then you can let me know how it works. haha

        • navigator1965 January 20, 2014 at 11:42 pm #

          We’ll stumble forward together.

        • LindaGHill January 21, 2014 at 9:36 am #

          Sounds good to me. 🙂

        • navigator1965 January 21, 2014 at 5:26 pm #

          Egad! I just got my own inadvertent double-entendre. I was suggesting a state of non-sobriety.

          Thankfully, no one would believe this of me given my sterling reputation.

        • LindaGHill January 21, 2014 at 5:44 pm #

          Of course not! … we won’t mention your liver here I suppose… 😉

        • navigator1965 January 21, 2014 at 6:57 pm #

          Never.

  2. Tarnished January 20, 2014 at 10:02 pm #

    Many congrats, Nav. You truly have an amazing story to tell!
    My thoughts on your questions;

    1. I’d do the cover unveiling sooner than later. Drama is all well and good, but your manuscript will take care of that anyway. 😉 You want your book out there, both so you can make money back on it, and to reach as many men (and hopefully women too) as possible. If your audience knows what to look for, they will be more likely to purchase it.

    2. Most definitely. No doubt in my mind. In helping the business I work for to grow, I’ve partially taken over the social media aspect of it. You should get people to come to your blog as well as learn from your book. Each is a part of your wisdom, humor, and goals…since you won’t be using your real name, I think your readers should at least have the option of getting to know your online persona.

    Hope this helps, and that you are in good health and spirits!

    -Tarnished

    • navigator1965 January 20, 2014 at 10:19 pm #

      TS,

      So nice of you to drop by. Yes, good health and spirits, thank you. Probably the yoga. }:-)>

      Appreciate the thoughts on my questions. I suspect number two is the more important question. After the book itself, social media appears to be everything for a new author.

      Yes, the book will not lack for drama upon its release. Fireworks of the nuclear variety, I suspect.

      Cheers.

  3. cttbbelliott January 20, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

    Here’s hoping this note finds you well and super excited about the release of your novel. It took me forever to do my own editing but I know of only one mistake in the story so I am pretty proud of that. I would say notifying the public of the release would, in my humble opinion, be within two months prior to it’s release. If you plan to release it late in March, then put out the book info in early Feb. and tell the public it will be released in March, still giving you nearly two months to push sales. My own experience with my novel as an Indie author has been how much time and effort it takes to bring people into your frame of mind. We really have to have that networking or marketing mindset and push like a madman.

    The backside of my book has my photo on it, a small one, and has the plot synopsis, a short synopsis, with it. If you go this route, then place your author bio and photo on the last couple of pages. Or reverse it if you would like. Any acknowledgements should go in front of the story or dedications……not written in stone but often times seen that way. Many blessings for success and I’m sorry I’ve forgotten your name…..Greg maybe?

    • navigator1965 January 20, 2014 at 11:29 pm #

      I am excited. It is nonfiction, but test readers suggest that it is as gripping as any good work of fiction. For legal reasons, I can’t be publicly identified with my story, so I write/blog as “Michael M. McConaughey.” Nav or navigator is fine here, though.

      Really appreciate the advice and especially the blessings. Cheers.

  4. Susan Irene Fox January 20, 2014 at 10:48 pm #

    Oh, Nav, I’m thrilled for you. One step closer. I think you’re absolutely correct to take the time in the editing process. I know someone who had a book released late last year (his second) and it was replete with errors. I’ll be sending you a private email; watch for it. Congratulations. Again, Book 1 is absolutely wonderful.

    • navigator1965 January 20, 2014 at 11:32 pm #

      Thanks, Susan. Yes, errors do detract from the reading experience. Glad you’re enjoying/have enjoyed Book One. People do seem to be responding positively to it.

      One reply email coming your way shortly.

  5. KG January 20, 2014 at 11:16 pm #

    Cool 🙂
    Gonna be exhausting work. Good luck and yeah, the yoga will help you relax a lot looking at your experiences 😉

    • navigator1965 January 20, 2014 at 11:43 pm #

      Thanks, KG. Yep, yoga will relax me.

    • navigator1965 January 20, 2014 at 11:43 pm #

      To death.

      • KG January 20, 2014 at 11:50 pm #

        😀 I don’t think so what with all the eye candy experiences you are having. I think it is making you younger 😉

        • navigator1965 January 20, 2014 at 11:52 pm #

          No comment. }8-0>

        • KG January 21, 2014 at 12:01 am #

          0:-)

  6. Dave January 20, 2014 at 11:16 pm #

    As I am not am author of any sort, I cannot help with the literary questions.
    As a friend, however, I would like to offer my congratulations. I hope your books are truly successful.
    Best wishes,
    Dave

    • navigator1965 January 20, 2014 at 11:45 pm #

      Thanks, Dave. Appreciate the kind wishes. I think the books’ controversy will cause them succeed.

      If you blog, you are writing.

  7. Holistic Wayfarer January 20, 2014 at 11:58 pm #

    All I can say is I am so very happy for you. I’ve replaced the cheerleading outfit for more befitting (pun intended) yoga gear (remember who’s holistic). Hope you can see the cheers I’m throwing out!

    • navigator1965 January 21, 2014 at 12:12 am #

      I can, Diana. I hope you in turn can see the big smile you’ve put on my face with your clever and kind comment.

      I am pleased to report that a crack team of ninja proofreaders in already on the case. Those layout typos and errors don’t stand a chance!

      • Holistic Wayfarer January 21, 2014 at 12:19 am #

        He he GOooo NINja!

        • navigator1965 January 21, 2014 at 6:05 am #

          They are great! Speaking of which, if you’re ever interested in having a look at the proofs—no need to proof read, just for interest’s sake—, please feel free to email me at themirrorbooks@gmail.com.

  8. Dotta Raphels January 21, 2014 at 1:34 am #

    Well done Nav and you are right, this wil be the right time to get to Twitter and FB for THE MIRROR.

    I can’t tell you just how powerful these two social outlets are, especially Twitter. I’m just getting a little more serious with mine as my launch day gets closer and so far, I see the difference. Glad you caught the errors, edit,edit,edit,lol

    Twitter is like text messages, it’s saying your piece in very small sentences. You will do great at this one. A man of few words 🙂

    Breathe…looks to me you have it all under control, it’s going great!

    • navigator1965 January 21, 2014 at 6:12 am #

      Very much appreciate learning from your experience here, Dotta. Thank you. Yes, I suppose proficiency with social media is now a given. Time to stop being a dinosaur and evolve with the times.

      Yes, edit! Always edit.

  9. mewhoami January 21, 2014 at 1:55 am #

    This is exciting. What a wonderful adventure. I’ll plan to get a copy when it comes out.

    • navigator1965 January 21, 2014 at 6:23 am #

      Thank you, mewhoami. It is exciting, and your support is wonderful. If you’d like to have an advance read (free, of course), please feel free to email me at themirrorbooks@gmail.com.

      Wait until you read the book. What an adventure it’s been!

  10. idiotwriter January 21, 2014 at 5:23 am #

    Everything Linda said 😉
    Twitter – I will ponder who we know who can give pointers? (Don and OM being being the first that come to mind….OR/AND – I can also poke around AND speak to young techno savvy teen…she knows all about these things – and YOU and The Mirror 😉

    As for ‘delay’ – no good going half cocked. Balls to the wall in STYLE say I!!!! 😀

    • idiotwriter January 21, 2014 at 5:24 am #

      …what I mean by the last sentence – don’t rush it – but you won’t – so that’s cool …

    • navigator1965 January 21, 2014 at 6:27 am #

      I have started reading Michael Hyatt’s “Platform: Getting Noticed in a Busy Word.” Supposedly a classic on social media marketing. Really cheap ebook, and good. So far, I am doing everything right. Just have to do more right.

      Balls to the wall indeed!

  11. Bradley January 21, 2014 at 2:44 pm #

    I appreciate all your comments on my blog especially lately because I’ve been struggling reading. and have missed so many of your posts. I’m excited for you on getting your book published and I’m sure your world will be much different when it’s releasedl

    • navigator1965 January 21, 2014 at 6:57 pm #

      No worries at all, Bradley, and thanks for your kind support.

  12. lensgirl53 January 21, 2014 at 10:31 pm #

    In this day and age you are going to have to join everything out there! ( I am not on either Facebook or Twitter, etc…) Publicity can be a beotch. I am excited to read my first signed copy!

    • navigator1965 January 21, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

      I appreciate your enthusiasm, LG53. Many thanks. Unfortunately, I received bad new from the self publisher today. It appears there is a four month delay in getting my book out. I am a bit displeased with this turn of events, and have to sort this out with them.

      Happy to do the signed copy. Cheers.

  13. bethbyrnes January 23, 2014 at 8:36 am #

    Congratulations on this milestone. It should be a bit smoother from here on out. Keep us posted.

    • navigator1965 January 23, 2014 at 6:44 pm #

      Thank you, Beth. Smooth will be nice. I shall certainly keep everyone abreast of progress.

  14. The Hook January 27, 2014 at 4:38 pm #

    Good luck and congratulations on taking another step to achieving a dream all writers share, but few ever actually see come to life.

    • navigator1965 January 27, 2014 at 9:30 pm #

      Thanks, Hook. Including research and thesis development, the book’s been 5.5 years in the making. That’s almost Ph.D. level of effort.

  15. Mich-in-French February 5, 2014 at 2:39 pm #

    No advicecan I give you Nav except to say – you make us all proud and you have inspired me to get my butt into gear …watch this space!

    • navigator1965 February 5, 2014 at 5:13 pm #

      Thank you, Mich. As for getting something in gear, my mind immediately leaped to certain elements of your last post near the endearing image of the muffin in jeans looking into a mirror image of itself.

      I watch with baited breath.

      • Mich-in-French February 6, 2014 at 2:51 am #

        Smiling! 😉

Please Leave a Reply

