Poem: The Castaway

17 Nov

He stood on his deserted isle
And gazed across an endless sea
From harrow’d eyes came a silent plea
He had been there, it seemed, for quite a while

He took out berry’d ink and quill
And pondered what he’d try to say
Regardless, words would his thoughts betray
So upon the parchment course they spill’d

That text into a bottle went
A stout, firm cork secured it there
A heave! He sent it through the air
And for some time was quite content

Then, one morning, he awoke
A bottle rested on the sand
But its authors didn’t understand
To their deafness their reply bespoke

So it went on for many a day
To find an ear the castaway tried
Occasionally, the sea replied
But with words so far away

The castaway never abandoned hope
He never ceased his toil of quill
Never an anguished heart is still
Across the sea he blindly groped

Then, one day, the sea atoned
A bottle bobbed in the shallow sea
Its contents that which set him free
For no longer was I so alone

28 Responses to “Poem: The Castaway”

  1. idiotwriter November 17, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    Oh – just – I see so much – I can say no more. Past or present poetry Nav? I am presuming past?

  2. navigator1965 November 17, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

    Past. In checking my notes, I wrote my earlier poems around 2005, and then did not write poetry for a year, and then wrote in 2007-2008. Perhaps one or two poems since.

    I find that even with an inspiration or intriguin idea, ease poem is a fair bit of work. I almost have to sculpt them, if that makes any sense.

    • idiotwriter November 19, 2013 at 4:44 am #

      I did not get this in my little message place 😦
      So I can safely assume if it is a poem – it is past 😉

      Sculpting poems ~ Sounds ~ POETIC!
      I think it is like everything else in life…the more you do it, or the less you do it?

      Your poetry has this wonderful stability to it – firm and solid – like a magnificent towering statue ~ironically.

      • navigator1965 November 19, 2013 at 5:03 am #

        Thank, iw, for your very kind words. They are appreciated.

  3. LindaGHill November 17, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

    This gives a definite sense of ‘place.’ Not giving up is an encouraging message. Very nice work, Michael. 🙂

    • navigator1965 November 17, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

      Thanks, LGH. It is about trying to find someone who really understands you. The sense of place is somewhat metaphoric in that it represents feeling isolated, alone, and misunderstood in this world. No one to really talk to who can understand you, despite your efforts to that end.

      • LindaGHill November 17, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

        I’ve been there. But then, has anyone not?

  4. vicbriggs November 18, 2013 at 7:23 am #

    no longer was I so alone
    – it is one powerful line 🙂

  5. bethbyrnes November 20, 2013 at 7:23 am #

    A metaphor for all communication. I also think it applies to those creatures among us who cannot speak at all. Food for thought. A few lines and much conveyed.

    • navigator1965 November 20, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

      Beth,

      I am honoured by both your visit here and your thoughtful comments. Thank you.

  6. Holistic Wayfarer November 22, 2013 at 12:39 am #

    “the sea atoned”

    Indeed. Just the right word.
    And atonement does set us free.

    So very well crafted.

    • navigator1965 November 22, 2013 at 5:55 am #

      Thank you, HW. You honour me with your kind words and presence here. Speaking of which, I’ve delayed my commenting on your last posts until I have enough time to craft suitable replies. Cheers.

      • Holistic Wayfarer November 22, 2013 at 10:27 am #

        *Smile* I so appreciate the standard you hold for yourself, even to care about wording your comments just so. An honor to me as well.

  7. waitingforprincecharming November 23, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    I close my eyes, and I’m there… Powerfully written by a powerful presence 😉

    • navigator1965 November 23, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

      Waiting,

      How wonderful to have you drop by. Thank you for your kind comment, and by all means don’t be a stranger.

  8. Kim Saeed November 23, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    “Never an anguished heart is still”…

    Navigator, this poem means a lot to me…
    It brought back memories of my one true love, years gone…
    I did send him a message in a bottle once.
    So many years ago, yet at the forefront of my mind.

    “Its contents that which set him free
    For no longer was I so alone”…

    Very symbolic…you are talented. You brought out that which I tried to forget, yet it’s sweet and nostalgic.

    • navigator1965 November 23, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

      Kim,

      You could pay me no greater compliment; your words are more precious than gold. Thank you.

      • Kim Saeed November 23, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

        I must thank you for reminding me that true love does, in fact, exist…

        • navigator1965 November 23, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

          It does, and you are most welcome.

  9. AainaA-Ridtz A R November 26, 2013 at 12:39 am #

    Absolutely love this piece … about the outcast being finally free

    • navigator1965 November 26, 2013 at 5:52 am #

      So glad you liked it, and thanks for your kind comments.

  10. WilderSoul November 28, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    Blog bottles sailing across the virtual sea
    Clinking away the loneliness…
    Although I don’t understand your situation
    It is something that is turning over in my mind.
    I wanted to drop off a little gift for you
    (a tiny message in a blog bottle)
    http://wildersoul.wordpress.com/free-gift
    It’s one that can be re-corked
    and floated across blogwaves
    to a new destination
    new friends,
    and new family
    as well as tried and true.
    Wishing you Great Love.
    Anasera.

    • navigator1965 November 28, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

      Anasera, You are such a sweetheart for this. Thank you.

      • WilderSoul November 28, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

        My pleasure – you’re welcome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Facebook Pics and Links | Aewl's Abode - November 24, 2013

    […] above. I have no idea what the hell is going on there.  Sort of like I have no idea what the hell The Mirror is saying in his poetry. I still don’t get poetry, remember I’m barely college educated and not very well at […]

Please Leave a Reply

